Daily News update on – Science


June 18, 2022

NEWS

Spaceflight Now

SpaceX launched a Falcon 9 booster for a record-breaking 13th time Friday from the Kennedy Space Center in Florida, hauling 53 more Starlink internet satellites into orbit as astronomers renew concerns about the growing brightness of the latest generation …

Facebook Twitter

Space.com

A new NASA documentary featuring the achievements of numerous Black astronauts will premiere Sunday (June 19), during Juneteenth. The 50-minute documentary, entitled “The Color Of Space,” will …

Facebook Twitter

Space.com

A two-stage Falcon 9 rocket is scheduled to launch from Florida’s Cape Canaveral Space Force Station Sunday at 12:27 a.m. EDT (0427 GMT), carrying a communications satellite for the Louisiana-based company Globalstar to orbit.

Facebook Twitter

Space.com

SpaceX plans to launch a German military satellite and land the returning rocket on Saturday morning (June 18), and you can watch the action live. A two-stage SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket is scheduled to lift off from Vandenberg Space Force Base in …

Facebook Twitter

Space.com

The wet dress rehearsal is slated to start today with a call to stations for ground teams at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center (KSC) in Florida at 5 p.m. EDT (2100 GMT). Over the course of about 48 hours, the Artemis 1 team will load cryogenic fuel into the huge …

Facebook Twitter

Mashable

Stray rocket junk in an unpredictable orbit smashed into the moon, for example, creating a new crater. And NASA’s mega moon rocket, the Space Launch System, has stumbled on its way to its first lunar mission, with the agency encountering several problems …

Facebook Twitter

New York Post

Researchers noted a few possible scenarios to explain how Jupiter formed. Two commonly held theories have Jupiter coming together out of swirling clouds of gas that implode to create a dense center — similar to how a star first …

Facebook Twitter

The New York Times

It summarized the results of a NASA workshop on how to detect alien civilizations. What was needed, the assembled group of astronomers, engineers and biologists concluded, was Cyclops, a vast array of radio telescopes with as many as a thousand 100-meter- …

Facebook Twitter

CNET

The launch-a-palooza began at 9:09 a.m. PT (12:09 p.m. ET) Friday with a Falcon 9 rocket blasting off from Florida’s Kennedy Space Center carrying yet another batch of 53 SpaceX Starlink broadband satellites to low-Earth orbit.

Facebook Twitter

Livescience.com

Australian astronomers discovered the cosmic juggernaut using data from Australian National University’s SkyMapper Southern Sky Survey, which aims to map out the entirety of the sky in the Southern Hemisphere. Locating the supermassive black hole was like …

Facebook Twitter