Daily News update on – Science


October 27, 2021

NEWS

Space.com

Four astronauts are scheduled to launch to the International Space Station (ISS) aboard the SpaceX Crew Dragon capsule Endurance at 2:21 a.m. EDT (0621 GMT) on Sunday (Oct. 31). The liftoff will kick off Crew-3, SpaceX’s third operational mission to the …

Facebook Twitter

Space.com

NASA astronauts Raja Chari, Kayla Barron and Tom Marshburn, and Matthias Maurer of the European Space Agency (ESA), stepped off a NASA plane at 2:30 p.m. EDT (1830 GMT) after it parked on the former space shuttle runway here at KSC.

Facebook Twitter

Space.com

Maurer is one of three first-time fliers on the four-person crew, including NASA astronauts Raja Chari and Kayla Barron, but he was identified by NASA as the designated milestone maker.

Facebook Twitter

Space.com

A Russian cargo ship is set to launch to the International Space Station tonight, and you can watch it live. The Progress 79 spacecraft is set to launch from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan no earlier than 8 p.m. EDT, Wednesday, Oct. 27 (0000 GMT …

Facebook Twitter

Space.com

The car-sized robot, and NASA’s other Mars craft, had to stand down recently because the Red Planet went behind the sun. NASA’s Perseverance rover captured this shot of its surroundings on the floor of Jezero Crater on Oct. 22, 2021, using one of its …

Facebook Twitter

BBC News

The search failed to find the particle, known as the sterile neutrino. This will now direct physicists towards even more interesting theories to help explain how the Universe came to be.

Facebook Twitter

EarthSky

Galaxies are great islands of billions of stars. Planets orbit stars, and are hidden in the stars’ glare. Plus a galaxy is such a small swath of light in our sky. It’s largely impossible for astronomers to see individual stars in optical light. However, X- …

Facebook Twitter

Space.com

CAPE CANAVERAL, Fla. — NASA’s next astronaut crew is set to launch to the International Space Station on Sunday (Oct. 31), marking the third operational crewed flight of SpaceX’s Crew Dragon spacecraft. The mission, called Crew-3, is slated to lift off …

Facebook Twitter

Livescience.com

The baby birds are part of a group of species known as brood parasites, whose moms lay their eggs in other birds’ nests, leaving them for other bird parents to raise. Rather than expending the energy …

Facebook Twitter

Phys.Org

In this 2013 photo, workers install a component of MicroBooNE’s precision detector, called a time projection chamber, into the cylindrical container, or cryostat. Credit: Reidar Hahn, Fermilab. New results from the MicroBooNE experiment at the U.S. …

Facebook Twitter