Daily News update on – Science


June 29, 2021

NEWS

Space.com

A two-stage Falcon 9 rocket flight is scheduled to take off from Space Launch Complex 40 at Cape Canaveral Space Force Station here in Florida. Liftoff is expected during a one-hour window that opens at 2:56 p.m. EST (1856 GMT).

Facebook Twitter

Space.com

SpaceX president Gwynne Shotwell says the company is still “shooting for July” for the first orbital flight of its huge Starship Mars rocket, although she acknowledged the company may not meet that target. “I’m hoping we make it, but we all know that this is …

Facebook Twitter

Space.com

“These were not events where the black holes munched on the neutron stars like the Cookie Monster and flung bits and pieces about,” one physicist said. Click here for more Space.com videos… After more than four years of exploring a menagerie of cosmic …

Facebook Twitter

Spaceflight Now

EDITOR’S NOTE: NASA TV’s live launch coverage in English begins at 7 p.m. EDT (2300 GMT). The Roscosmos webcast in Russian begins at 6:30 p.m. EDT (2230 GMT).

Facebook Twitter

BBC News

The observations could mean that some ideas of how stars and galaxies form may need to be revised. Prof Vivien Raymond, from Cardiff University, told BBC News that the surprising results were …

Facebook Twitter

EarthSky

LIGO and Virgo observed gravitational waves — distortions in the very fabric of space-time — produced by the final 30 seconds of the dying orbit of the neutron star and black hole, followed by their inevitable collision. The discovery is named GW200105.

Facebook Twitter

Space.com

“Hold called due to Range being no-go; teams are setting up for tomorrow’s backup opportunity,” SpaceX wrote in a statement on Twitter. The next launch opportunity is on Wednesday (June 30) at 2:56 p.m. EDT (1856 GMT). SpaceX will have about an hour in …

Facebook Twitter

Phys.Org

Jung-Tsung Shen, associate professor in the Department of Electrical & Systems Engineering, has developed a deterministic, high-fidelity two-bit quantum logic gate that takes advantage of a new form of light. This new logic gate is orders of magnitude more …

Facebook Twitter

Space.com

Ground controllers remotely unbolted Cygnus from its port on the station and moved it into its release position before using the space station’s robotic arm to undock the spacecraft and send it on its way; NASA astronaut Megan McArthur monitored the departure …

Facebook Twitter

Popular Science

She had just moved to Germany from the United States, and as a favor to Helbert, a fellow planetary scientist, she was acting as a courier, bringing rocks far too precious to be put in the care of international postal systems hopelessly backlogged because of the …

Facebook Twitter