Daily News update on – Science


June 16, 2021

NEWS

Space.com

NASA astronaut Shane Kimbrough and European Space Agency astronaut Thomas Pesquet will spend about 6.5 hours working together in the vacuum of space for today’s spacewalk, or extravehicular activity (EVA). NASA will …

Facebook Twitter

Space.com

NASA astronaut Shane Kimbrough and Thomas Pesquet, a French astronaut with the European Space Agency (ESA), wrapped up their seven-hour and 15 minute spacewalk at 3:26 p.m. EDT (1926 GMT) on Wednesday (June 16), during which they partially …

Facebook Twitter

Space.com

The mission could help scientists better understand how and why Mars’ climate has changed over time, as the barren planet looks quite different today than in the ancient past when it had a thick atmosphere and, scientists think, plentiful liquid water on its …

Facebook Twitter

Space.com

China is poised to launch its first crewed spaceflight in nearly five years. The Shenzhou-12 mission is scheduled to lift off tonight (June 16) from Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center in northwest China at 9:22 p.m. EDT (0122 GMT and 9:22 a.m. Beijing time on …

Facebook Twitter

CNN

(CNN) The International Space Station is about to get a powerful upgrade. On Wednesday morning, NASA astronaut Shane Kimbrough and European Space Agency astronaut Thomas Pesquet will conduct a spacewalk to begin the installation of new solar …

Facebook Twitter

Phys.Org

Quantum computers could outperform classical computers at many tasks, but only if the errors that are an inevitable part of computational tasks are isolated rather than widespread events. Now, researchers at the University of Wisconsin-Madison have found …

Facebook Twitter

CNN

Based as much as possible on archaeological evidence found in Paleolithic caves, the researchers made their own versions of prehistoric torches and grease lamps. The team then tested how well they worked inside Isuntza 1 Cave in the Basque region of …

Facebook Twitter

CNN

(CNN) There are three 50-year-old cars parked on the moon. Now, General Motors and Lockheed Martin wants to build some new ones and put them on the moon, too. In the 1960s, GM worked with Boeing (BA) to create the Lunar Roving Vehicle. Three of …

Facebook Twitter

EurekAlert

The visual world around us is the ultimate stable frame but our research shows that even small frames work: the locations of a test within the frame will be perceived relative to the frame as if it were stationary. The frame acts to stabilize your perception.”.

Facebook Twitter

Livescience.com

The first humans to discover Antarctica weren’t seafaring Westerners but rather Polynesians, who found the coldest continent 1,300 years ago, a new study suggests. Researchers in New Zealand assessed oral histories about a Polynesian explorer spying an …

Facebook Twitter